Student Support Team

Student Support is co-ordinated by a team of staff who review how the school is responding to the overall needs of the students and in particular those students facing challenges. Please read our Student Support Policy in full here.

The members of the team are:

Sr. Mary Delahunty

(Chaplain )

Ms. Marie Breen

(Deputy Principal)

Ms Laura Brennan


Ms. Jacqueline Munnelly


Ms. Louise Seagrave Daly


Mr Robert Dunne


Year Heads and Tutors

Year Heads have both a pastoral and disciplinary role in supporting students. For full details on their roles see our Student Support Policy.

6th Year:


Year Head

Ms Bernard O'Boyle

Ms Seagrave Daly ( Geography)

Ms P. Butler ( Biology)

Ms D. Butler ( Chemistry)

Ms Mooney ( Spanish)

Mr O'Connor ( German)

Ms Maginn ( Accounting)

5th Year:


Year Head

Ms Celine McCarthy

Ms Harvey

Ms Farrelly

Mr M. Murphy

Mr E. Murphy

4th Year:


Year Heads

TY Co-ordinator





Ms Mary Coleman

Ms Marie Lonergan

Ms McHenry

Ms Hannigan

Mr Oman

Ms Egan

3rd Year:


Year Head






Ms Samantha Watters

Ms Murphy

Mr Flanagan

Ms Watters

Ms Costello

Ms Lambe

2nd Year:


Year Head






Ms Julie O'Brien

Ms Munnelly

Ms Ryan

Mr Hughes

Ms Powell

Mr Mulligan

1st Year:


Year Head






Ms Aisling Green

Inion Ni Ghabhann

Ms O'Dwyer

Ms Collinson

Ms Lenehan

Ms Nolan


Guidance and Counselling

The Guidance Counsellors offer a range of services which include: 

  • Counselling
  • Assessment
  • Information
  • Educational Development Programmes
  • Personal and Social Developments
  • Referral
  • Guidance activities to help pupils make transition
  • Consultation with parents, teachers and pupils
  • Feedback to staff and school management on the needs of pupils

The Guidance Counsellor is  Ms Dara Shortt.


Learning Support/ Resource Department

The Learning Support / Resource Department, in light of the results of assessment tests, offer support to students in various subjects. This tuition may be carried out in class, in small groups or on a one to one basis. 

The members of the Department are:

  • Ms Carol Rice (Co-ordinator)
  • Ms Marie Breen
  • Ms Laura Brennan
  • Ms Joanne McBreen
  • Ms Anne Nolan
  • Ms Jessica Reynolds

Chaplaincy Services

The Role of the Chaplain is of great importance. Sr. Mary Delahunty is our current Chaplain. She supports students during hard times and responds to the spiritual needs of the student as they arise during the year.


Cara System
Recognizing that the transition from primary to secondary school is a significant step in the life of a student, this school has put in place structures that will ease this transition. A formal induction process provides new students with opportunities to meet their class group, teachers and student support staff. Senior students who have spent a number of years here are particularly well positioned to help their new companions. At the end of Fifth Year, each student is encouraged to volunteer to be a 'cara' to a First Year. They provide friendship and support throughout the year and meet at regular structured activities in each term. Three prefects and the Chaplain co-ordinate these events throughout the year. 



The mentoring process provides students in senior classes with an opportunity to meet a designated teacher in order to discuss academic work at key points during the school year. It provides the student with support, guidance and practical advice.

Sixth Year Mentoring Team
Ms Marie Breen

 Ms Laura Brennan

 Ms Patricia Butler

 Ms Hannah Costello

Mr Robert Dunne

Ms Eithne Egan 

Ms Anne Marie Farrelly

Ms Leanne Gillick

Ms Jennifer Hannigan

Ms Pamela Jordan

Ms Aideen Lambe

Ms Jennifer Maginn

Mr Martin Mulligan

Mr Eamonn Murphy

Ms Linda Nolan

Mr Bernard O'Boyle

Mr Donal O'Connor

Ms Louise Seagrave Daly

 Sixth Year Mentoring Team

Ms Kim Boland

Ms Marie Breen

Ms Deirdre Butler

Ms Roisin Conlon

Mr Robert Dunne

Mr Will Flanagan

Ms Alison Freyne

Ms Aisling Green

Ms Aileen Harvey

Ms Pamela Jordan

Ms Aideen Lambe

Ms Celine McCarthy

Ms Jacqueline Munnelly

Mr Eamonn Murphy