Mr. Sean McEwan from “Localise Volunteering” presented a National Award to Loreto Abbey in recognition of the number of students involved in volunteering, both in the school and in the community.  We are the first school in Ireland to receive the Award and we congratulate the Student Council for facilitating surveys and for their work in addressing the criteria for the Award.

Sixty ladies from the Class of 2009 returned , some travelling from abroad, to Loreto Abbey on Friday evening to renew friendships and reminisce on their school days.  A drinks reception organised by Sarah Grace was followed by a tour of the school which brought smiles as the class remembered happy times.  The evening concluded with refreshments in the Magpie Inn in Dalkey.  We looking forward to hosting them again in 2029.

Families bereaved in the past year gathered with past and current members of staff in the Loreto Abbey Chapel for a Mass of Remembrance on Wednesday evening.

We thank Sr. Mary, Chaplain, Fr. Denis Hartnett, Ms Aisling Green (Soloist), our choir and our hostesses.

Congratulations to Thea Hodges, Alice Wright, Coralie McMahon, Sophia Bolger and Emily Finlay.  They were recipents of Entrance Scholarship Awards in UCD on Thursday afternoon having received 560 points in their Leaving Certificate. There were accompanied by Ms Therese Ryan.

Ms Aoife Mullane, Class of 2009, was named in the Sunday Independent’s 30 Best and Brightest Young Entrepreneurs List published yesterday.

Aoife is a graduate of NCAD and catapulted to success with her unique textile designs.  A chair that featured in her final collection at her graduate show was put on display in Brown Thomas and caught the attention of architects looking to collaborate with her on large high-end projects.

She said, “At the time, I was applying for buying jobs and they were all telling me, you look like you have your own brand here.”    She began to build a clientele – one being Dragons’ Den star Norah Casey, who went on to win RTE TV Show Home of the Year.  Clients now include the Alex Hotel and Oslo Beauty Salon on Mespil Road.  Mullane was also selected to showcase her work at Maison et Objet, an upmarket homeware trade show in Paris, this January.

Congratulations to Lucy O’Sullivan (Class of 2019) on receiving an Entrance Exhibition Award in Trinity College on Wednesday evening.

Our students representing Belgium at RADMUN last weekend

There are various activities taking place for “Science Week”.  Science buffs are answering the daily Science Quiz questions.  The Science themed Bake a Cake Competition takes place today and Dave has returned with his reptiles to yet again enthral 1st Years on the marvels of nature.  Our thanks to the Science prefects and staff for their organisation of the various events.