Good morning everybody, could we pause a moment for morning prayer.

Today is open day, an opportunity for us to throw open our doors and show the world what is good and unique and special about our school.

This afternoon, hundreds of people will walk through our gates and we get to show them what makes Loreto Abbey, Dalkey shine. They will see that girls who have talents in sport have some of the best facilities in the country. They will see that girls who have a passion for debating have the ability to shape minds with their words. They will see that students who love science have the flames of their curiousity fanned by the most dedicated of teachers. They will see that for girls who are musical, their talents are nurtured in so many ways and they will see that girls who are artisitc have their amazing work displayed around our walls.

However, it is not the building or the view or the facilities, impressive as they are, that draw people here. It is the sene of community and co-operation that exists between us that makes this place so special, but most importantly, it is you, our students, with your energy and enthsuaim and positivity that shows off our school in the best possible way.

Today we pray that the sun shines and that we have a really great open day.


As part of National Engineers Week, Professor Aoife Ahern, Head of the School of Civil Engineering in UCD will speak to 4th, 5th and 6th Years on careers in Engineering and other related areas on Monday March 4th

Ms Jane Coyne and five coaches took 54 hockey players from 3rd and 4th year to Sligo for the weekend.  The group played locals schools, went to the cinema, surfed, chatted constantly and enjoyed a relaxing weekend.  Thank you to the staff for their time.

Congratulations to Muirinn Daly (4th Year) on her selection to represent Loreto Abbey and Leinster at the upcoming 22nd National Session of the European Youth Parliament in Ireland, in Galway from April 15th 18th

Congratulations to Sr. Orla Treacy on receiving an International Women of Courage Award.

 This award was established by the US Department of State in 2007 to honour women who are making a substantial difference in the lives of women across the world.  Nominated by US Embassies and NGOs, the candidates are selected by the State Department for their courageous and selfless efforts advocating for human rights, women’s equality and social progress, often in the face of great personal risk.

 Sr. Orla received this award on 7th March in Washington DC.  She was accompanied to the Awards ceremony by her father and brother and also by Anne Mary Murphy who dedicated a number of years to life in Rumbek.  Sr. Orla sees this award as belonging to the Mission.

As always we pray for the continued safety and success of this Mission for the young people of South Sudan.  We also rejoice with Sr. Orla that the situation there is receiving international recognition.


The SPHE Support Group is organising a series of activities this week promoting an awareness of the importance of “Minding your Mind”.  Congratulations to the group for their innovative and creative programme.

Our school Choir performed at the Wesley Feis on Friday under the direction of Ms Julie O’Brien.  The Trad Group were placed second in their group having played an exhilarating set on Saturday.  Well done.

The Young Entrepreneur Awards 2019 were presented on Thursday 28th February.  All participants received Certificates.  The following businesses were awarded prizes:

Junior Category

1st Prize                Scrabble Crafts                 Sienna Manning

2nd Prize               Force Field Sports           Ellie Saunders, Anna Simpson, Lauren Kelly

3rd Prize                Winter Warmth                Freyja Cleary, Anna Sewell

Special Prize      Pride Place                         Rachel Nagle, Emma Wilson

Special Prize      The Wheel of Fortune   Gaelle Abrard, Kate Rainsford

Intermediate Category

1st Prize                Make it Yours                    Ellie Healy, Alisha Purcell

2nd Prize               Amy’s Aprons                    Amy Harmon

3rd Prize                Wave after Wave             Katie Power, Sarah Cunningham

Special Prize      A Bitta Christmas             Anna Shortall

Senior Category

1st Prize                Study Buddies                   Klavdia Wilson

Overall School Prize Winner – Sienna Manning